PDA

View Full Version : adjustable fuel pressure regulator



benssvo
12-04-2002, 01:25 PM
Hi Guys I was hoping some one could answer this question for me. I was told that I should install an adjustable fuel pressure regulator on my car and I have but the old one was a vacume advance so the more boost that was pushed the more fuel would go into the engine. but the adjustable regulator you have to set . my question is I would think that if I set the pressure to a correct setting for full boost would cause the car to run rich at idle, and if it is set for an idle pressure I would ping under boost is this correct?

SVOeric
12-04-2002, 02:14 PM
your new FPR did does not have a vacume port on it ???

benssvo
12-04-2002, 02:37 PM
no it looks just like the stock pressure regulator but on the top instead of a vacume tube it has a screw.

SVOeric
12-04-2002, 02:58 PM
you really need both -- a adjustment, and a vacume port..

to run a turbo car -- you need to add 1 psi fuel per 1 psi boost -- without a vacume port, there is no way to do that!!

I got a kirban FPR from SVPU.. it has both.

who makes the FPR that you have?

Gator
12-04-2002, 03:33 PM
On some ADJ Reg's the screw doubles as the vac port.

Like the Crane unit.

If it is a Crane unit, return it.......it will leak on you.