PDA

View Full Version : Need help! Please

turbosvo
06-03-2008, 01:36 PM
ok so my car used to run 9.4's in the 1/8th mile with just a 255 fuel pump, adjustable fuel pressure regulator, ranger roller cam, boost turned up to about 18psi, and air filter on van meter.

but i blew a few piton rings then i did some work

i installed trw forged pistons, ported my head, got bigger valves, a237 cam, 75lb fuel injectors with a chip from (juscuz) bob log header and 3" elbow off of turbo, and my car runs good BUT I DONT HAVE MUCH POWER IN HIGHER RPMS LIKE I USED TO! But it does when it wants to:confused: so its wierd what could it be

i havent adjusted the cam yet, could that just be my problem?

Bouncer88
06-03-2008, 01:39 PM
The cam actually seems like that would be the problem, but I am just getting into this tuning stuff so don't take my word for it.

turbosvo
06-03-2008, 01:50 PM
thats what im thinking it is, because i had that old ranger cam retarded 4degrees and it ran great at high rpms! And the a237 is at zero right now, so ill try switching it tonight! Is there a degree that some one has had really good luck with on a a237 cam and the set up that i have?

84svoracer
06-03-2008, 06:35 PM
But it does when it wants to:confused:

If it is only doing it sometimes then I don't think it could be the cam because it would do it at all times and not spontaneously (unless of course you have a vtec honda :doh: ) or am I reading what you wrote incorrectly?

turbosvo
06-03-2008, 07:39 PM
Yeah it feels better sometimes!

84svoracer
06-03-2008, 09:34 PM
Then its most likely fuel or ignition related. I would check all of the obvious things first like boost leaks, make sure the timing is advancing with rpm (I think this is with the spout unplugged? it should move roughly 20*) , tps, and fuel pressure. Is the car running smoothly when it doesn't have as much power or act funny at all?

boostedbruiser
06-04-2008, 01:50 AM
EXPLAIN...."it does wat it wants to" Symptoms....??????