Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: O2 sensor.....

  
  1. #1
    Boosted
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va.
    Posts
    6,270

    O2 sensor.....

    I bid and won an O2 sensor on eBay that was supposed to be a 3 wire, but it was a one wire........

    Just wondering, I am switching over to a PE, square intake, etc............am I going to need the one wire sensor anyway?

  2. #2
    OVER-BOOST!! under pressure's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Riverdale,Ga.
    Posts
    773
    SVO's: 85 Ford Red
    I switched from a 2 wire O2 to a 1 wire & a PE computer. Works fine. I'm running the .63 turbo which I changed to a water cooled center housing. I also ported and polished a 86 head and installed a 86 cam. I'm using the E-6 exhaust header. You need to change the 84=85 A-232 cam to the 86 A-231 (stock) or better yet a A-233 which is still a good streetable cam. Ford cams are made by Crane Cams. If you run more than 270* duration (A-234)your gas mileage goes to 14 mpg. Kurt Will we see you at the reunion?
    85 SVO "Christine" ; CBR954RR CB350 85 VF1000R XR400R CZ 250 Enduro 66 Suzuki X-6 "Hustler"

  3. #3
    Boosted
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va.
    Posts
    6,270
    Quote Originally Posted by under pressure View Post
    Kurt Will we see you at the reunion?
    That's my plan for now Rick. It all depends on my new job (that I am still looking for)

  4. #4
    Boosted
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Virginia Beach, Va.
    Posts
    6,270
    Quote Originally Posted by MikeFleming View Post
    Got it?
    I guess not.....how do I know if my chassis wiring has the heater wiring?

    So if I currently have a 3 wire O2 sensor, can I do the one wire, or should I stick with a 3 wire?

  5. #5
    Boosted Raven855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    2,254
    SVO's: 85 855 855 86 86 86
    The first O2 sensors had 1 wire. The problem w/ the sensor was that it didn't work well until it heated up. So they added a heater circuit and it became 3 wires. The next problem that showed up was that the sensor itself was grounded to the exhaust system. Heat, corrosion, resistance; alot of times the ground that the sensor sees is different than what the computer sees. The difference of 1/10 of a volt can have a big difference in performance and fuel economy. They added another wire to later sensors making it 4 wires, with the 4th wire being a ground for the sensor. Leave it 3 or even convert to 4.

  6. #6
    OVER-BOOST!! roberto2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Rockwood, Ontario. Canada
    Posts
    1,813
    SVO's: 1985 4E + 1c 84 1e
    I have MANY 4 wire O2 sensors brand new
    does anyone know which wire is which?
    Rob

    85 4e

  7. #7
    Boosted Raven855's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tulsa, Ok
    Posts
    2,254
    SVO's: 85 855 855 86 86 86
    Type 1 Type 2 Type 3 Description
    Black White Black Heater Circuit
    Black White Red Heater Circuit
    White Grey Black Sensor Ground
    Blue Black White Sensor Output

    Don't know what type you have. I upgraded my 85 to 85.5 specs last weekend and put in a 4 wire and 3 G alternator at the same time. What I did was cut the wires off the old 3 wire o2 and spliced them onto a 4 wire male plug from the salvage. Spliced a ground wire onto the 4th wire and ran it to the ground by the heater core. I use the universal bosch 4 wire thats like 18-20 bucks new. The car is down in Edmond, I'll post some pics later......sorry about the formating above
    Last edited by Raven855; 03-24-2007 at 09:58 PM. Reason: formating

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •