Turbo options

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Turbo options

I've got a spare Precision 6262 turbo with a 63 exhaust. Is that to big for a svo? I assume the svo turbo is a 3 bolt? I would do all of the supporting mods needed for a bigger turbo. I'm new to the svo game but the 6262 is a fun turbo on our turbobuicks. I know these aren't apples to apples but I bet the svo responds well to e85, turbo and a front mount?

You'd be happier with a 48. We have a 63 on the car now and it doesn't really make much boost until 3500 rpm.

Comment

How much hp does a 48mm support?

Comment

Originally posted by Lsttype View Post
        How much hp does a 48mm support?
        No idea. I'd guess about 350 whp.

Comment

compressor side wheel makes more difference than the exhaust side wheel. you can't just look at the exhaust side

Just simple physics, yes the larger exhaust side will take more exhaust to spin due to mass, .48 will spool a bit quicker, but I have a .63 that has full boost by 2200 rpm.
          cant ever hit more than 3000 rpm in 2nd gear, cause it blows the back tires off at that point. (at 17 psi boost)

Eric C
          SVOCA Webmaster

Comment

I've got a spare 6262 with an 63 A/R. I was thinking that it probably is a little big for the 2.3 but I honestly don't know. Just sounds like fun is all

Comment

*sigh*
              I give up- -
              I can only tell you that 84-85 SVO's came with .63 exhaust side turbo's stock....
              without knowing what the other side wheel is, -- it's a guess... it's not likely to be horrible, so throw it on and give it a shot.
              Eric C
              SVOCA Webmaster

Comment

62 on both sides

Comment